PDA

View Full Version : Leaking Carbs!

Fordson Van
25-11-13, 02:37 PM
I keep hearing about leaking carburettors either on the needle valve or throttle plates etc bla bla bla ;) Its usually due to gum build up and all sorts of cures have been mentioned but the only real cure and prevention is in the shops and has been for decades,its called REDEX :) yes youv all heard of it but probably never used it since you were a lad and its only a fiver ! I always put an egg cup full in the tank before I put 5 gallons of unleaded in,ive never had a sicking valve or leaky throttle plates and my carb is about 5 years old! Lubes the upper cylinder walls and valves for less friction :tup: its a nice nite cap before bed time too :crazy:

Choppedblownpop
25-11-13, 08:20 PM
I'm no expert,but a lot of people blame the ethanol content !
I know a lot of the two stroke forums are full of "blown" engines where the ethanol breaks down the two stroke mixture. I'm not trying to pick an argument,I use Redex in my daily,never thought of using it in my pop.
Just a thought

satan
25-11-13, 08:52 PM
"NAPHTHA"

http://www.torquedup.co.uk/forum/imagehosting/usr_images/4/0/2/402_5293b88b99370.jpg

fad15
25-11-13, 08:54 PM
That could well 'solve' the problem

Fordson Van
26-11-13, 05:32 PM
I know a lot of the two stroke forums are full of "blown" engines where the ethanol breaks down the two stroke mixture. I'm not trying to pick an argument,I use Redex in my daily,never thought of using it in my pop.
Just a thought Ethanol burns hotter than petrol,maybe thats the problem with 2 strokes? snake oil :beuj: wt

satan
26-11-13, 05:47 PM
Ethanol burns hotter than petrol,maybe thats the problem with 2 strokes? snake oil :beuj: wt
really?

it never ceases to amaze me at how much misinformation about alcohol fuels there is out there, and what needs to be done to get an engine to run on alcohol. ok, a few facts here;

all alcohols are hygroscopic, meaning they absorb water, rather like a sponge.