Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Leaking Carbs!

Banned

Leaking Carbs!

I keep hearing about leaking carburettors either on the needle valve or throttle plates etc bla bla bla Its usually due to gum build up and all sorts of cures have been mentioned but the only real cure and prevention is in the shops and has been for decades,its called REDEX yes youv all heard of it but probably never used it since you were a lad and its only a fiver ! I always put an egg cup full in the tank before I put 5 gallons of unleaded in,ive never had a sicking valve or leaky throttle plates and my carb is about 5 years old! Lubes the upper cylinder walls and valves for less friction its a nice nite cap before bed time too
    Last edited by Fordson Van; 25-11-13 at 02:38 PM.

Who reads this drivel !
    I'm no expert,but a lot of people blame the ethanol content !
    I know a lot of the two stroke forums are full of "blown" engines where the ethanol breaks down the two stroke mixture. I'm not trying to pick an argument,I use Redex in my daily,never thought of using it in my pop.
    Just a thought

Might as well be part of the furniture.
    "NAPHTHA"

That could well 'solve' the problem

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Choppedblownpop View Post
    I know a lot of the two stroke forums are full of "blown" engines where the ethanol breaks down the two stroke mixture. I'm not trying to pick an argument,I use Redex in my daily,never thought of using it in my pop.
    Just a thought
    Ethanol burns hotter than petrol,maybe thats the problem with 2 strokes? snake oil wt

Quote Originally Posted by Fordson Van View Post
    Ethanol burns hotter than petrol,maybe thats the problem with 2 strokes? snake oil wt
    really?

it never ceases to amaze me at how much misinformation about alcohol fuels there is out there, and what needs to be done to get an engine to run on alcohol. ok, a few facts here;

all alcohols are hygroscopic, meaning they absorb water, rather like a sponge.