Might as well be part of the furniture.

One for the engineers

The four bar set up on the front of the T is constructed from chromed steel bars/tubes with rose joints (heim joints to some) at each end. The bars/tubes (I don't know if they are solid bars or tubes) are pitted with rust and I was wondering about getting some 316l Stainless steel BAR of 20mm diameter (basically the same diameter as already on there) and putting threads in them for the rose joints, my question is will 20mm solid stainless steel be adequate for this or would it need to be thick wall tube?

The alternative would be to have the existing rechromed.

Any views?

Well, Im not an engineer - my dad was, so that counts, right?
    One thing I do remember tho, even tho its contrary to first reaction, is that solid stock has a lower bending pressure than thick wall tube of the same diameter. Now, having said that, I still cant answer your question accurately because of several things, [not the least being lack of knowledge] like how heavy the car is - lateral and torsional load as well as static - length of material in the component [bending moment], life cycles and Im sure a hundred other things. As a rule of thumb tho, memory says that one needs to go up some 25 to 33% larger diameter in solid stock to achieve the same bending resistance as tube, assuming the material is the same. In your case, sounds like the originals are mild steel ; more flexible and less prone to fatigue, but probably not as 'strong'. However, if I were to go solid, w/o referring to some material tables for bending and shear strength, I would go up some on diameter.

Of course, my advice is worth precisely what it just cost you...

Carburetion 'sucks' !
    Driving 'round the M25 so fast the centrifugal force is forcing my face against the side window!